Which Kit Brand Has Most EPL Titles?

Which Kit Brand Has Most EPL Titles?
Nike official Premier League match ball

Nike have produced the most kits worn by Premier League Champions (12) overtaking rival manufacturer Umbro (11) when Manchester City won the 2018/19 title.

Umbro’s Early Dominance

Umbro had held the record for producing the most EPL champions kits between seasons 1992/1993 and 2016/2017, as Manchester United wore Umbro’s “double diamond” logo on seven of the first nine Premier League title-winning strips.

The Rise of Nike

Nike’s first success came in the 1997/1998 season with Arsenal, as the Gunners lifted the Premier League title in their 100th competitive season, in what was Arsene Wenger’s first full campaign as manager.

Nike started to make up ground on Umbro beginning with Arsenal’s second and third Premier League titles, either side of Manchester United’s triumph in 2003 – the Red Devils switch from Umbro to Nike playing a large part in the Nike’s later success.

Nike Takes The Lead

Manchester United won seven more EPL titles between 2007 and 2013 as Nike surged towards the lead, and when rivals Manchester City changed from Umbro to Nike the icing was on the cake. In 2017/2018 City helped Nike equal Umbro’s 11 titles, and Nike took top spot for the first time the following season when City retained the title.

Adidas Bridge The Gap

Three other manufacturers have produced Premier League title-winning shirts. Adidas have their logo on three Premier League winners jerseys, all from Chelsea, with the Blue’s EPL and FA Cup double-winning campaign of 2009/2010 under Carlo Ancelotti and the 2014/2015 EPL and EFL Cup double under Jose Mourinho. Followed with another EPL title win two seasons later under the guidance of Antonio Conte.

Puma’s Year of the Fox

Puma’s first win arrived with Leicester City’s unbelievable triumph in 2015/2016 – arguably the greatest sporting team achievement of all time. Leicester started the season as many people’s favourites for relegation and title odds of 5,000-1, having spent the previous campaign at the bottom of the table until well into April.

New Boys New Balance

New Balance became the newest entry on the list, having created Liverpool’s lucky kit in 2019/2020 for the Reds 19th league triumph, under manager Jurgen Klopp – the Merseysider’s first English top-flight title since 1989/1990.

Kit Brand League Table

  1. Nike – 12 (Arsenal: 3, Manchester United: 6, Manchester City: 3)
  2. Umbro – 11 (Manchester United: 7, Chelsea: 2, Manchester City: 1, Blackburn Rovers: 1)
  3. Adidas – 3 (Chelsea: 3)
  4. Puma -2 (Leicester City: 1, Manchester City: 1)
  5. New Balance – 1 (Liverpool: 1)

All-Time Premier League Winning Kits

NumberSeasonChampionsShirt ManufacturerShirt Sponsor
11992/1993Manchester UnitedUmbro (1st)Sharp
21993/1994Manchester UnitedUmbro (2nd)Sharp
31994/1995Blackburn RoversUmbro (3rd)Sharp
41995/1996Manchester UnitedUmbro (4th)Sharp
51996/1997Manchester UnitedUmbro (5th)Sharp
61997/1998ArsenalNike (1st)JVC
71998/1999Manchester UnitedUmbro (6th)Sharp
81999/2000Manchester UnitedUmbro (7th)Sharp
92000/2001Manchester UnitedUmbro (8th)Vodafone
102001/2002ArsenalNike (2nd)Sega Dreamcast
112002/2003Manchester UnitedNike (3rd)Vodafone
122003/2004ArsenalNike (4th)O2
132004/2005ChelseaUmbro (9th)Emirates
142005/2006ChelseaUmbro (10th)Samsung Mobile
152006/2007Manchester UnitedNike (5th)AIG
162007/2008Manchester UnitedNike (6th)AIG
172008/2009Manchester UnitedNike (7th)AIG
182009/2010ChelseaAdidas (1st)Samsung
192010/2011Manchester UnitedNike (8th)Aon
202011/2012Manchester CityUmbro (11th)Etihad Airways
212012/2013Manchester UnitedNike (9th)Aon
222013/2014Manchester CityNike (10th)Etihad Airways
232014/2015ChelseaAdidas (2nd)Samsung
242015/2016Leicester CityPuma (1st)King Power
252016/2017ChelseaAdidas (3rd)Yokohama
262017/2018Manchester CityNike (11th)Etihad Airways
272018/2019Manchester CityNike (12th)Etihad Airways
282019/2020LiverpoolNew Balance (1st)Standard Chartered
292020/2021Manchester CityPuma (2nd)Etihad Airways
Table of Premier League Champions, from season 1992/1993 to season 2020/2021, listing league winners and their shirt manufacturers and shirt sponsors.